Kick Ass

I went into this movie excited, and that always leaves me nervous cause when I anticipate something being really good I usually am let down. One might say I have high standards. With Kick Ass I tried not to know too much cause I wanted to enjoy the ride. And this tactic worked–the movie is great. I loved it!

The story centers on an average New York teenager who decides to don a costume and fight crime. He buys a wet suit over the internet and makes it into a costume. His initial foray into crime fighting is realistic–it’s fraught with danger and he isn’t left unscathed. I really liked the realism in this area. He’s a dorky kid who wants to make a difference and does feebly what he can. Then one night, when he is defending a guy from being beat-up his fight is recorded and put on Youtube and becomes an overnight sensation. This sparks interest from people all over the world and it inspires two other people in his town to join him in his vigilantism. But life, again is never perfect, things spiral out of control.

Overall I am not sure if there is anything that I dislike about this movie. WOW!! I love the action sequences–very Kill Billesque! And the girl who plays “Hit Girl” (Chloe Moretz) is phenomenal. She’s who I wished I had been when I was growing up!! Now her relationship with “Big Daddy” is very dark and this movie takes you to places you are not expecting, but because of the rules the producers are breaking, it makes the movie work. I love the action sequences, I love how they tried to make this movie seem realistic and I really enjoyed the humour. I may want to buy this movie. I would re-watch those action scenes over and over…

So if you can, get out to your local movie rental place and pick this up NOW! Don’t wait for the weekend, the buzz behind this movie is too great! Splurge, rent it for the week, you will thank me.

~ by xine23 on August 4, 2010.

 
