The Switch

Kassie Singleton wants to have a baby, even though she is single. Her best friend, Wally, who is secretly in love with her, objects. She goes ahead with it. At her “conception party” Wally accidentally drops the sperm down the sink and has to replenish it himself, but doesn’t remember this as he was skunk drunk at the time. Fast forward 6 years later, with Kassie moving back to NYC with her son Sebastian, and you find Wally bonding with his mini-me and coming to terms with his feeling for Kassie.

This movie has been garnering a lot of negative reviews and I am proud to say I am going to be one of the few who liked the movie!!! I mean I get why some people didn’t cotton to it–they dislike the formula (which most critics do) and they also fundamentally dislike how Bateman becomes the father. Someone likened it to rape, which I feel is going too far. Hijack? Yes. Rape? Not a chance.

I liked this movie for many reasons. One, Jennifer Aniston isn’t in this much, the film does not center on her. She is like Rachel in Friends, she is around a lot but she doesn’t drive the movie. It centers on Bateman and his slowly evolving relationship with his supposed son. And let me tell you how cute this kid is! I mean it, he is adorable!!! I love that he wants to help animals in a kill shelter for his birthday and that he goes online to webmd to see what diseases he could have. And his interplay with Bateman is charming and warm. It literally makes the movie. Overall, yes the movie is your standard romantic comedy but it is worth watching. If you don’t want to see it in the theater, that’s ok, it will be out to rent by Christmas.

~ by xine23 on August 22, 2010.

One Response to “The Switch”

  1. Good day! Thanks for sharing. I will bookmark your website.

Comments are closed.

 
