The Other Guys – Review

I went into this movie with no expectations. I was kind of afraid because Will Farrell has had a few flops (ok a lot) and although I like his comedy I find the plot or supporting elements to be lacking that the rest of the movie doesn’t work. So I took the chance, having heard good things and I am glad I did!!

The Other Guys centers on Terry Hoitz (Wahlberg) and Allen Gamble (Farrell) as partners disgraced New York City police detectives relegated to filling out paperwork for cocky hero cops Danson and Highsmith. The mismatched duo must look past their differences when they take on a high-profile investigation of shady capitalist David Ershon and attempt to fill the shoes of the notoriously reckless officers they idolize

Wahlberg is a great angry comedic foil for Farrell to bounce off of in this movie. The beginning thirty minutes of verbal interplay between the two characters made me laugh until I cried! There was a specific scene when Wahlberg tried to threaten Farrell that had me in stitches. It was great. I like Farrell playing the straighter guy who gets picked on, instead of the off-the-wall character who makes every absurd situation even more so. It was a pleasure to watch him in this film, which is rare for me. Now as for the plot and the supporting characters, they are all silly but fun. I enjoyed seeing Samuel L Jackson and The Rock as the kick-ass detective and Michael Keaton as the captain. And there was a certain memorable scene with Eva Menedes that made me laugh. A lot. Overall, you heard right, this movie is a WIN. Watch it and enjoy!!

~ by xine23 on September 1, 2010.

 
