New Releases to DVD!!

This week’s movies on DVD are not terrible!! There’s a romantic comedy, a comedy and then a Michael Douglas film. All of it looking entertaining!

First off we have Killers starring Katherine Heigl and Ashton Kutcher. This movie was panned when it came out in the summer and I can tell you the trailers certainly did not win me over! So I waited for the rental, cause that seemed safe. It wasn’t a terrible movie, but it isn’t one of the best either. The movie is about a vacationing woman who meets her ideal man, leading to a swift marriage. Back at home, however, their idyllic life is upset when they discover their neighbors could be assassins who have been contracted to kill the couple. I think I found the movie “ok” because Tom Selleck and Catherine O’Hara are in it (but not enough!). The storyline isn’t overly original and there aren’t too many funny moments but for some reason I just didn’t hate it!! LOL I can’t explain it 🙂 So yes, I would say for a nice light night, this movie is just fine.

Next out is the SNL skit-turned-movie MacGruber!! Now I am really on the fence about this movie!! It has a great supporting cast but I never saw this skit once so I just don’t know!! Is it worth my hard earned $6.77?? The movie is all ridiculous humor and a paper thin plot for sure: Ex-special operative MacGruber is called back into action to take down his archenemy, Dieter Von Cunth, who’s in possession of a nuclear warhead and bent on destroying Washington, D.C. But I do love Kristen Wiig and Ryan Phillippe. I am going to hold off for the time being, but if someone has seen it please comment 🙂

Next we have some tv shows coming out!! The Office Season 6 and Supernatural Season 5. I love both tv shows and it is worth renting both (or buying) to get caught up. People we are in September and it is time to get ready for all our returning shows!! Are you aware the Vampire Diaries is premiering this week? I found out yesterday!! *grin*

~ by xine23 on September 8, 2010.

 
