Letters to Juliet

I was fortunate enough to have the ability to see this movie before it comes out this Tuesday to video. I knew from the trailers that it was going to be a hokey, cheesy chick flick. That wasn’t a shocker with the lines in the trailer and the music of Taylor Swift playing over it. What determines if a movie is fun to watch is normally the supporting characters, the humour. If they engage you, then the formula of the movie works, you don’t feel bored.

Letters to Juliet centers on Sophie (Amanda Seyfried), who is on vacation in Italy. She finds an unanswered “letter to Juliet” — one of thousands of missives left at the fictional lover’s Verona courtyard, which are typically answered by a the “secretaries of Juliet”. When the woman she writes to comes to find her, and her lost love, Sophie finds herself joining the woman (and her grandson) on her quest to find the man she left behind.

I found the movie quote fun to watch. I love the backdrop if Italy and Tuscany, and the scenery made the movie visually stunning. Except for Seyfried, there are no other names  knew in the cast, but I did like both Vanessa Redgrave (as the grandmother on the quest for love) and Chris Egan. Egan was very well cast as the insulting and stuffy grandson who is ultimately concerned for his grandmother’s emotional welfare. I truly disliked Sophie’s fiancé, as I found him brash and insensitive, which I think was the point. Overall, yes the movie is predictable, it doesn’t bring anything new to the genre and the ending scene is so cheesy, you feel like gagging, but I still liked it. It’s girls-only for sure though, and don’t be thinking your boyfriend might be ok with this. He won’t. See it with girls.

~ by xine23 on September 12, 2010.

 
