New to DVD Tuesday September 14th

This week bodes well for chick flick lovers and action film lovers! I have already reviewed the chick flicks this weekend (Letters to Juliet and Just Wright) but the other flick coming out is Prince of Persia: Sands of Time!! I saw this movie in the theatre when it first came out and I liked it 🙂 Prince of Persia follows a rogue prince, Dastan (Jake Gyllenhaal), who  reluctantly teams up with a rival princess (Gemma Arterton) to safeguard a magical dagger that gives its possessor the power to reverse time and rule the world. This movie also stars Ben Kingsley and Alfred Molina. Now it has been a bit of time since I have seen this movie but I remember thinking I didn’t hate it but I had wished I had waited to rent it. It has good action sequences, I like the cast and supporting cast and the plot was pretty good too. I just didn’t feel this movie. I found it to not take itself seriously enough, with cheesy one-liners that could have worked in a different movie but because I am not familiar to this gaming franchise, it went over my head. But don’t take that to mean I didn’t like it. It’s just middle of the road. You don’t have to think too much or want too much from this movie. It’s simply pretty people, with good action and a fun story.

~ by xine23 on September 14, 2010.

 
