New to DVD September 21st

Alright people, unfortunately this week the new release are not plentiful, and what is out is painful, at least to me. First is Robin Hood starring Russell Crowe. I must tell anyone who reads this review and still rents it that the movie is a prequel to the Robin Hood story we all know and love. Having that knowledge is power and will definately shape how you take in the movie. Now as for whether you should rent the movie, I advise you not to. I found the movie dull, and it felt like Gladiator rather than Robin Hood. The plot was thin and I found my self bored and not caring. In fact, I fell asleep in the theatre. Truly that is a statement.

The other movies out this week are ones I have not heard of so I don’t know how to direct you, but I am nervous about them both. One seems too serious for me (read: depressing) and the other is a sequel I didn’t know was being made. The Experient stars Adrian Brody and Forrest Whitaker. Stomp the Yard: Homecoming which is straight to video. I am not a fan of straight to video, sure there are gems, but pseudo-dancing movie? Hmmmm, I will pass.

Sorry to be such a downer on the movies this week, but I think your money and time could be spent watching new tv shows this week (the majority premier!) or renting the TV shows you fell behind on last season, as a lot just came out. I just finished with Grey’s Anatomy myself and will be moving onto Fringe season 2 tomorrow.

~ by xine23 on September 21, 2010.

5 Responses to “New to DVD September 21st”

  1. You missed one – the Oscar winner for Best Foreign Film hit dvd this week. THE SECRET IN THEIR EYES would be my choice for a “rental of the week” in a walk…such a good film!

    • I was unaware of this movie! Since leaving fair Blockbuster, I mainly write about big titles since they are the most advertised. I will looking into the movie you mentioned 🙂 Thanks, as always, for your feedback!

  2. This site is very informative. Good post by the way.

  3. Robin Hood was a total dud. Felt more like Gladiator.

  4. The page is very informative. Great post by the way.

Comments are closed.

 
