New Releases to the Theatre Today!

This weekend we have a good mix!! We have the anticipated Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, the comedic You Again and then family fare in the form of Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole. Considering the man in my life loves Michael Douglas it is certain I will be seeing Wall Street but as for the other two..well we will see.

Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps has had the largest marketing campaign and the trailer makes it look pretty good. They pulled out all the stops as Michael Douglas and Charlie Sheen are back (it’s IMDB my friends, Charlie is listed as part of the cast!) plus we have Carey Mulligan, Susan Sarandon and Shai LeBeouf in this film. If we were grading on cast alone, this movie would be 10/10. Now preliminary reviews are saying the movie is just “ok” but from my instincts, I am thinking it will be good. It will be dark, you question whether Gekko has reformed himself and I believe there will be cheesy references to the first film. All are ok with me. So count me in. I may not see it this weekend, but I will soon.

Next we have an animated film with Legend of the Guardians: The Owls of Ga’Hoole. This film is animated action/fantasy about owls with a long legacy. To be honest the trailers never grabbed me. My kind of animated film is the comedic ones like Up or Despicable Me. I know this film will do really well for the younger audiences, but for me personally I am going to pass.

Lastly we have the possibly funny You Again. Again, I am going to be brutally honest. Kristen Bell irritates me. And since she is the main character I just don’t if I can watch this. Further the story feels weak and I don’t know if I want to sit through a movie where four women try to out-do each other at a wedding. I was picked on when I was younger, so I get how Bell’s character feels, but I wouldn’t react the way she does in the trailer. This movie seems to be less funny and more filled with malice. Now there is a saving grace here–Betty White. I love this woman and have since Lake Placid. She always has the fun character who helps transform movies from “ok” to “zomg, that was SO funny!!”. But is Betty White enough for me to see the movie in the theatre? Probably not but I will rent it.

Let me know what you are seeing this weekend! Do any of these movies appeal to you? I still need to see Easy A!!!

~ by xine23 on September 24, 2010.

 
