The Case, Social Network & Let me In

This weekend there are three solid movie choices–two horror films and then the Social Network. I suppose I could classify the latter as a drama, but for fear of getting in trouble with my fiancé over my wanting to see it, I will not label it as thus.

The Social Network has the largest buzz behind a movie for quite some time. It has a fresh rating at Rotten Tomatoes of 97%, (83% for users) and had been widely talked about for months. At first I didn’t understand the need for the film, I thought it was almost too self-referential. But the more I hear about it, what the story is really about, the more I am willing to see it. Plus it stars one of my favourite young actors–Jesse Eisenberg, and Justin TImberlake. The story centers on Harvard undergrad and computer programming genius Mark Zuckerberg at the moment he conceives Facebook. In a fury of blogging and programming, what begins in his dorm room soon becomes a global social network and a revolution in communication. A mere six years and 500 million friends later, Mark Zuckerberg is the youngest billionaire in history… but for this entrepreneur, success leads to both personal and legal complications. It looks a complicated rags-to-riches story that just might engross the nation.

The Case I had on here as a trailer a while back. Renee Zellweger, Bradley Cooper and Ian McShane star in this demon-themed horror movie. Zellweger stars as Emily Jenkins, a social worker who finds a disturbing case where a set of parents try to kill their daughter. Jenkins decides to take the girl in herself until the right family comes along to adopt her. What she doesn’t know is that the little girls is haunted by demons who kill everyone in her life who try to help her.

Let Me In looks like a sad and disturbing tale. Twelve-year-old Owen is a social outcast who is viciously bullied at school and in his loneliness, forms a profound bond with his new neighbor. Owen can’t help noticing that Abby is like no one he has ever met before. As a string of grisly murders occupy the town, Owen has to confront the reality that this seemingly innocent girl is really a savage vampire. I feel this one looks like the creepiest and has the most potential to scare the daylights out of me! Plus it stars a new favourite of mine Chloe Moretz, from Kick Ass. The thing it does have against it is that it is a remake/adaptation of the Let the Right One In. The remakes of The Eye and The Grudge haven’t been the best, but in this case I will let it slide because the trailers make it look like an original instead of an adaptation.

~ by xine23 on October 2, 2010.

 
