The Help Review

This movie was everything I thought it was going to be–heartwarming, funny, infuriating and a showcase for some fine female actors. Before going into this review I will confess that I have not read the book, so I have no basis of comparison, but that is kind of how I like it.

The story centers on Eugenia “Skeeter” Phelan, a young woman fresh out of school during the civil rights era. Skeeter is not your average 1960’s woman, she wants to be a journalist, she doesn’t want to simply get married and be a housewife and she doesn’t share her town’s views on black people. Living in Jackson, Mississippi, that is rather difficult, especially when one of her closest friends Hilly is one of the town’s most racist people. As Hilly tries to get her “Home Help Sanitation Initiative”, a proposed bill to provide for separate bathrooms for black help, Skeeter gets more and more uncomfortable, until she breaks and goes to the help and asks them to help her write a book to expose how poorly they are treated. What happens from there transforms the entire town of Jackson, in moving and great ways.

I loved this movie because of all the amazing acting and the different story-arcs in it. I love to hate Hilly, played by Bryce Dallas Howard. She is vicious, small-minded and vile. And I love how she is such a bitch!! I also love a specific pie scene with her, and her reaction if freaking priceless. Emma Stone as Skeeter, was warm. She made you cheer for her when she was down and you felt her pain and understood what drives her. She is great as the titular character. My favourite character though was Celia Foote, played by Jessica Chastain. Celia has accidently crossed Hilly by marrying the man she loved, and thus is shunned by Hilly’s circle of friends as a result. Chastain plays her with this overwhelming warmth and naiveté. She has no ability to cook or clean and is just looking for someone to spend time with. Lastly, it was a fantastic casting choice to have Sissy Spacek play Mrs. Walters, Hilly’s mother. Every scene she is in, she steals. It is amazing that someone as nice as her somehow created a daughter as vile as Hilly.

Overall, I would say this movie is a rental. And that is not knocking it. I am more the snap and flash type when it comes to seeing movies in the theatre. The story, the acting and character arcs are great. It is definitely a must-see, I would just wait to see it when it comes to video. And it might, just might, wind up on my movie shelf.

~ by xine23 on October 10, 2011.

One Response to “The Help Review”

  1. I’m currently reading this book. I’m almost done and I absolutely love it!! You definitely should read it. I can’t wait to see the movie.
    Awesome review! 🙂

Comments are closed.

 
