Hunger Games Trailer

I am going to be very biased in this trailer review as the books are one of my favourites. I have been patiently waiting for this trailer and was excited and nervous to see how the actors chosen for the roles would translate to my vision of the story. I was also nervous because of the debacle that is Twilight. Let me not mince words when I say that the adaptation of Twilight the book to movie is an atrocity, it is tween barf and the book lost its soul in the translation to the movie. But I am getting astray.

The trailer is perfect in its story-telling. It starts off right where it should–District 12. Now in my mind District 12 was a lot more grey, muted and sad/poor looking. The dirt roads say poor, but the buildings are not as disheveled as I expected. I like how the trailer clearly portrays the relationship between Katniss and her sister Prim. I also like the blue dress–it is demure and definitely hand made. It looks exactly the way I saw it in my head. The kicker though is when Prim’s name is called and Katniss looses it. I teared up when she freaked out and took Prim’s place. It was great seeing such emotion and took the trailer up a notch.

I have to say that I thought the make up and hair would be more over-the-top from the descriptions in the book. I was a little disappointed in the outfits Katniss and Peeta wear in the opening ceremony. I hope them looking like they are on fire is saved for the movie then, but it is described in such detail and a pivotal moment in the book, that I will be disappointed if it is not in the movie. But beyond that, I enjoy the transformation of Katniss and Peeta, I love meeting the other characters. I am glad we only got glimpses of Rue, I want to wait and see her in the movie.

The last stretch of the trailer is fantastic. The music amps up the audience’s emotions, and as you see Katniss being led down the hallway to the games, my heart began to pound. Adding the countdown was electrifying. It really made me want to see the movie now.

Now as for casting, so far I think all the actors are good in their roles. I think Jennifer Lawrence is great as Katniss, she is the main reason why I was so emotional during this trailer. She captures all the moments of Katniss excellently–from volunteering to be a tribute, to getting transformed. A lot of her portrayal is in her eyes and it works. As for Josh Hutcherson as Peeta, I will say I always saw Peeta as chubby and dark haired, I am ok with him. I don’t hate him in the role and will reserve judgement on him till the movie. There was not enough of Gale, but he ruggedly handsome. Elizabeth Banks as Effie is unrecognizable–I had to watch it a third time to see it was her. The best is Woody Harrelson as Haymitch. I honestly believe he is the best casting in the movie, as he can be hilarious and turn serious in a heartbeat. I was pleased with him, with what I saw and I look forward to seeing more of him.

Overall, I felt the trailer was spot-on. It captured all the important moments, it made me emotional and it had me begging for more.

~ by xine23 on November 15, 2011.

One Response to “Hunger Games Trailer”

  1. I REALLY want to read those books and I will be doing so very soon! I seen the trailer when I went to watch Breaking Dawn and I thought it looked super interesting.

Comments are closed.

 
