The Muppets Review

I used to watch The Muppet Show all the time as a kid. It was one of my favourites. Over the years, as the Muppets have become less and less prevalent on TV and in movies, I tend to forget their humour and what they do best at. So I went into the movie fresh, knowing who my favourite characters are and excited to see what celebrities would be in it and what musical numbers they would do.

The “plot” was pretty thin, but this movie is intended for hardcore Muppet lovers and for kids, so the plot isn’t really needed to be strong. As always, Kermit and Miss Piggy are at odds and require being reconciled. Fozzie is still doing stand-up, poorly. Gonzo is surprisingly a company mogul! Animal was found in anger management with Jack Black! And Miss Piggy is the head of the plus size division of Vogue in Paris–and seeing her has a great scene with Emily Blunt.

My favourite part of the movie is once all the gang is together. I felt that the movie dragged until this point, but once they started the show and “got” their celebrity guest star, it all came together. I found myself bopping along to the music, laughing lots and enjoying myself. I have a soft spot in my heart for The Muppets and was glad to have them back.

~ by xine23 on November 26, 2011.

One Response to “The Muppets Review”

  1. […] Christine Wright reviews the new film, The Muppets. Read it here. Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponDiggRedditEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Comments are closed.

 
