The Woman in Black Review

As a lover of the Harry Potter series and someone who genuinely likes Daniel Radcliffe, I was hopeful for this movie when I went to see it. I also like suspenseful ghost stories, they freak me out and I enjoy a good thrill (minus Paranormal Activity, that shit makes me lose my mind and wake up at 3am for weeks!).

The movie has a lot going for it–the costuming is spot-on and helps set the mood for the time period. It is filmed like the Underworld series, dark, not a lot of colour, all setting a mood and tone that is both ominous and depressing. Arthur Kipps (Radcliffe) is sent to a remote village to put the affairs of a dead woman in order. Little does he know she is still haunting her house and is set on exacting revenge on the locals anyway she can. Kipps becomes, obviously, embroiled in figuring out the reason why she is so unsettled and sets out to put her soul to rest.

The most disappointing part of the movie is that it lacks in story line execution. You get a lot of information about the background of the dead woman, Alice Drablow, but honestly it wasn’t enough. You don’t get the motivation behind going after the town itself. Her sister? Sure, but why did she decide she needed to go after all the children in the town too? That is never answered, and that to me is a crucial element that needed an answered. Because Drablow’s intentions are not fully exposed critical errors are made on the part of Kipp, which lead directly to the ending of the movie.

Overall, the movie is wonderfully creepy, moody and has great scare moments. I found myself hiding behind my hand during the scary parts and that was great. The element of surprise and scare is what made the movie great. Unfortunately the lack of story line execution made me like the movie less. Had we gotten more answers, I would have felt more fulfilled and enjoyed the movie more. If you like a good scary movie, I think you should see it, just don’t go into it expecting it to end in a satisfying manner.

~ by xine23 on February 10, 2012.

One Response to “The Woman in Black Review”

  1. […] Blogger Christine Wright reviews the new film starring Daniel Radcliffe, The Woman in Black. Read it here. […]

Comments are closed.

 
