Hunger Games Review

It is always a danger for books being turned into a movie. I don’t want to ruffle the feathers of my friends, but they know how I feel about the difference between the books and movies for the Twilight series. The books (minus Breaking Dawn) were a great read and I read them faster than any book I have ever touched. I couldn’t put them down. The movies, on the other hand, were teen trash that made my brain hurt. I knew there was hope when I saw who had been cast in the The Hunger Games. I must say I was not disappointed.

The movie follows very closely to the book. It follows Katniss from hunting with Gale, to the Reaping, to the Game. I feel the casting of Jennifer Lawrence was spot-on. She has the emotional depth required for the stunted character of Katniss. She is also beautiful, in an understated way in the movie. She also captures the quiet confidence and defiance of Katniss, that pops up in certain scenes. I also very much enjoyed Woody Harrelson is perfect as Haymitch–he has the sass, the swagger and the wonderfully placed one-liners. I liked the movie Haymitch better than in the book. I liked that he was less drunk, that he was more strategic behind the scenes but still was a jerk to Katniss and Peeta. Harrelson nails it. Josh Hutcherson I was impressed with. I haven’t seen any of his movies, so he was a big unknown for me. I thought he was great–during difficult scenes, like when he says his mother thinks Katniss will win the games and he will die, he captures the emotion of the moment. Lastly, Elizabeth Banks stole the show as Effie–her costuming was ridiculous but appropriate. She was the perfect antithesis to Haymitch and her yelling about the table being made of mahogany was priceless.

The movie did a great job at capturing the emotional moments from the book. The Reaping was one of them–when Katniss looses it and volunteers, basically to die for her sister, the reaction from the crowd is perfect. Lawrence is great, displaying a frantic desperation. I got veryemotional during this scene. Another emotional scene is Rue’s death.

Here is this sweet, young girl taken down so fast. I like how this scene shows Katniss’ emotions, for she has been truly closed off for so long in this story. It’s also pivotal because Rue’s death sparks the fight in her against the Capitol. I think the movie did well in getting these scenes absolutely right.

 

Lastly, the movie had wonderfully unexpected moments of humour that I didn’t fully expect as a fan. The story and world is so dark that I forgot there were these little gems. My absolute favourite moment is when Katniss is going before the judges and misses the target the first time and they simply dismiss her. When she hits the arrow into the apple in the pigs mouth I just laughed and laughed at the men’s faces. I can literally feel Katniss thinking “Dismiss me, will you? FUCK YOU!”. Lawrence nails the sarcasm in her tone when she thanks them for their consideration. And lastly, the scene when Effie yells at about the furniture being mahogany. She really encompassed the absolute irony in that moment–the tributes talking about their inevitable death and getting frustrated and Effie gets put out because the table gets stabbed. Priceless.

Overall, I loved the movie. I recognize that there wasn’t enough time to establish all the characters from District 12, the relationships or the background of Peeta and Katniss properly. If you hadn’t read the books you probably were confused during the flashback scenes. Some things just struggle in translation from book to movie. But overall, I feel the movie hit the notes it was supposed to and frankly I want to see it again!

~ by xine23 on April 10, 2012.

 
