Review: The Avengers

There are no words in the English language that can express the amount of satisfaction I had when I left the movie theatre last night after seeing this movie. This movie is what every director of a super hero flick wishes they could do. It’s a fantastic ride and you do not feel the time passing. This movie is not short–it has five heroes that require their introductions, plus a pretty bad-ass villain. So let’s get to the nitty gritty.

Storyline/Characterization: it was spot-on. Everyone knows where Stark, Captain America and Thor have been, but not what they have been doing. The film takes the right amount of time introducing the audience to the new heroes (Black Widow, Hawkeye and Hulk). It does just as good a job re-introducing the audience to the heroes they know and love. All scenes are mixed with snappy dialogue and humour. My favourite scene was Stark, obviously, because of his sarcasm. But all characters had their moment, their funny, that peaked the audience’s interest and made them care for them. This is the magic that spun together the whole film. The characters were fleshed together perfectly, reacted to each other in ways that didn’t deviate from their character and made the audience root for them, even when they were behaving like spoiled brats. The thing that really impressed me is that this film got The Hulk right. And I mean right. It captured the essence of mild-mannered Banner but when he turned scary green, the CGI didn’t get stupid. Heck the face of the Hulk actually looked like the actor in the role! What’s more is that the Hulk wasn’t just some brainless smashing machine (although there were moments when he was, and it was awesome!), he too had humour and made some scenes so funny that it helped alleviate the tension in the moment. It was perfect!

Action: This movie was teeming with action!! Right from the opening sequence in the lab, you knew what this movie was going to be. It was going to punch you in the face and you were going to beg for more! Every action scene was stunning. It was a good mix of all heroes and I didn’t feel like they centered on any individual hero the most. Through the action, it was conveyed exactly why these individuals had been brought together and why they were the ones who could handle the army from space. The final battle scene was incredibly intense, and well executed. Never once did I think to myself “this is so fake”, like I have with every Hulk movie I have ever watched. And the Hulk was in a lot of the action scenes I loved! So good job there Whedon, good job.

Humour: This movie was teeming with it! The movie was dripping with sarcasm, snappy-one liners and it was essential for this movie, as the plot got very serious and needed those moments of comedic break. The humour is Whedon’s specialty and did more than just break the tension, it established the characterization of our heroes on a level that dramatic acting can’t do. It was executed flawlessly and I now have an endless amount of great quotes to use as my Facebook status for the next few weeks.

Overall, I have to say that this is what I have been waiting for as a fangirl of super hero movies and a rabid fan of Joss Whedon’s. When the audience clapped at the end of the movie, I got chills. This movie, as I said at the start, is what every director wishes they had made. It’s the best super hero movie I have seen, I can’t wait to see it again this weekend and to own in my collection. Also–more please! I want a new movie ASAP!!!

~ by xine23 on May 5, 2012.

 
