The Amazing Spiderman Review

I went into this movie really wanting not to compare it at all to its predecessor. I knew this would be tricky because the original one with Tobey Maguire came out a mere ten years ago, which means it is still fresh in my mind. Plus, if you read any of my blogs, you know how much I adore the first movie.

I am thankful this movie tries to make it its own spin on the Spiderman mythology. It starts off with a strong focus on people I have never met–Peter Parker’s parents. His father is shrouded in mystery, a very smart scientist working at Oscorp, doing things, we as viewers, are unsure about but we know where it will lead to–their disappearance and ultimately Peter Parker’s destiny. I liked meeting his parents, I like the mystery surrounding them. It was a good element and I rather wish it was a stronger theme within the movie. After the movie moves to the present day, the similarities between the 2002 original and this one come a little closer, but they have to, if they were to stay true to the comic books, which is the aim of this series (from what I know). There are elements that the new movie does better at and there are elements that the 2002 movie do better. And frankly, it’s impossible for me not to compare the movies, which is why, although I thoroughly enjoyed this incarnation of Spiderman, I found it lacking.

Let’s get into the why of this movie being lacking. It isn’t as emotionally resonate as its predecessor. I didn’t feel the death scenes as much as I did in the original. I didn’t feel the angst the way I did in original. Frankly, Tobey Maguire did a much better job at portraying Peter Parker’s grief than Andrew Garfield. Further, the first movie did a much better job in explaining why Parker decides to use his powers for good than this one. And for me, this was the key difference for me. You can make the prettiest, most sparkly movies you want–if it doesn’t have a good theme, if you are not operating at a higher level that will resonate with me, then your movie will not capture my attention the same way if you were to put that bit more oomph into it.

But all of that is personal preference, and I get that!!! That being said, I enjoyed the movie for exactly what it was–popcorn blockbuster fun! The actions sequences were amazing (pun intended???), the 3D was actually pretty awesome! I loved the villain, played by Rhys Ifans. He was a villain you could sympathize with up until he went into the deep end. He’s missing an arm, he wants to better the world, he just goes down a dark path that changes him, physically and mentally. You also are not sure what his relationship was with Peter’s dad, and you never fully know, which I found cool and whetted my appetite for the next movie. Emma Stone was stunning and fun as Gwen Stacy. I love this actress sooooo much, and I thought she brought emotional depth to important scenes. Dennis Leary was freaking awesome as Gwen’s dad and super captain of New York. His reactions were priceless in more than one scene, and I felt he stole the show. Lastly, I really enjoyed Andrew Garfield as Peter Parker. He has wonderfully sarcastic, he was good during the emotional scenes, great at the awkward scenes with Gwen and hilarious when he was figuring out his powers.

Overall, I was entertained–which was the point! I couldn’t help but compare it to the 2002 version and it wasn’t honestly as good a movie as that one, but I still encourage people to see it. The stunning action alone is worth it. The 3D is done very well. And maybe you can be more forgiving than me about the comparison between the 2002 version and this one.

~ by xine23 on July 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “The Amazing Spiderman Review”

  1. I think that this may have been better than Sams Raimis’ because there was no campiness and little schlock. This helped take the story serious (as much as I love Bruce Campbell, he’s pretty hammy). I thought the way Peter starts the critical event in the corner store (**EARLY SPOILERS**), when the criminal shows him a sort of kindness by throwing the milk to him was great! I think too often in this genre you see good guys as all good and baddies as all bad. This really helped ‘grey’ things up a bit, which adds a bit of real life flavour! They really polished a great story!

    Great movie, great review.

  2. […] Check out Christine Wright’s movie review of The Amazing Spiderman starring Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone. Read it here. […]

  3. What is amazing about the footage is how it manages to be deeply intimate and personal while also big; it makes the old Sam Raimi movies look fake and quaint. The relationships between Parker and Gwen Stacy, Parker and his aunt and uncle, Parker and Captain Stacy, Parker and Connors, all show different facets of a teen who not only is picked on and given powers but more interestingly an orphan who finds emotional chords connecting him to his missing father.

Comments are closed.

 
